Tailgating recipes

Hello hello!

So, I’m not really the biggest fan of football. Probably because I didn’t grow up watching it and because I don’t know what the heck is going on, so it is kind of difficult for me to get into it. However, I do love tailgating

My sister, my brother, and me at a Longhorn's game last fall

My sister, my brother, and me at a Longhorn’s game last fall

and tailgating snacks, so I have decided to share these two with you.

Buffalo Chicken Dip                                                        7-Layer Dip

041  027

First, we will start with the buffalo chicken dip. Its a simple recipe that I got from http://www.daydreamkitchen.com/2012/12/buffalo-chicken-dip/

All you need is: 4 cups shredded chicken 1 bottle wing sauce (Lousiana's is preety spicy) 1 cup ranch dressing 8 oz cream cheese cubed 1 cup shredded cheese (I used fiesta because that is what I had) **I also 1/2 my recipe so my picture is 1/2 of what this recipe calls for**

All you need is:
4 cups shredded chicken
1 bottle wing sauce
(Lousiana’s is preety spicy)
1 cup ranch dressing
8 oz cream cheese cubed
1 cup shredded cheese
(I used fiesta because that is what I had)
**I also 1/2 my recipe so my picture is 1/2 of what this recipe calls for**

First, preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Next, mix your chicken, cream cheese and wing sauce in a bowl. Toss until everything is well coated.

.032 039

Put mixture into a oven safe dish coated with cooking spray and top with ranch and cheese. Now, it is ready for the oven. Bake for 15 or 20 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly.

040

Now, for the 7-layer dip. I love this stuff and could probably survive off of it. I also like it because really you can throw what ever you like in it. It isn’t a strict science. (Plus it is much tastier than its disgusting cousin, 7-layer salad, ew)

042

This is how my layers went, bottom to top:

1. refried beans (1 can)

2. guacamole ( 1 cup, you can make your own like this http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Guacamole/Detail.aspx but I cheated and used store bought)

3.salsa (3/4 cup, I also used store bought, but if your feeling extra frisky here is a recipe http://www.simplyscratch.com/2011/01/homemade-salsa.html)

4.sour cream (apx 8 oz)

5. cheese (1 cup)

6.jalapenos ( This and cilantro can be used to your liking)

7.cilantro

So honestly it is 5-layer dip with toppings. Nonetheless, delicious!

029 028

Also, a quick tip for you. I put the sour cream on top because I thought it would look the prettiest, but it got all mixed in with the salsa. So next time I may move the salsa between the beans and guacamole.

These recipes are both done really quickly and mostly only require assembly. Both can be eaten with tortilla chips or you can mix it up with the buffalo dip and use toasted French bread or bagel chips. I hope you are able to enjoy them with your football this weekend! Go Jags!

-Mariel

5 thoughts on “Tailgating recipes

Leave a Reply

